Inspiring.

29Aug12

“Then what is good? The obsessive interest in human affairs, plus a certain amount of compassion and moral conviction, that first made the experience of living something that must be translated into pigment or music or bodily movement or poetry or prose or anything that’s dynamic and expressive–that’s what’s good for you if you’re at all serious in your aims.” – Tennessee Williams, from ‘A streetcar named catastrophe’

2 Responses to “Inspiring.”

  1. 1 Tim

    Greetings and salutations from Albion!

    Cast your (overactive) mind back four years to 2009, at ‘The Nunnery’ in Melbourne. It was there I met two charming, thoughtful and perceptive human beings from Adelaide, plus one nonchalant cat. Regretfully I forgot their names, but I never forget them. I believe one of those individuals was you… and I don’t think it was the cat. Perhaps you remember me? I was quite likely donning a leopard print cap at that stage in my life…. good times! Either way I hope the three of you are vibrant, thriving and making the most of whatever life throws your way. You made an unstoppable triumvirate.

    All the best to you!

    Tim
    x

    p.s. Great job with the blog.
    p.p.s. Russell Brand is my favorite stand up.

    • Holy guacamole! I do remember ye! How on earth did you find me online if you don’t remember my name? I believe you are in one of our photos of said night, I shall email it to you whenever I stumble upon it. Methinks I’m making the most of what life throws my way, but Nathan more so. He relocated to Melbourne after the demise of our relationship, and has just finished a 6 month photography scholarship in NY! Fairly impressive, especially considering when we met you he was still ploughing away at a law degree for no apparent reason. I myself have settled into a type of trendy mediocrity which involves running a vintage clothes stall, studying whatever I feel like and slowly rotating universities (difficult to do in adelaide – there’s only 3 of them) to avoid the 10-year study term limit at any given place. Hopefully, by the time I’ve been through these three a new one will pop up and I’ll never have to get a real job with a briefcase, and pay back the immense debt I’ve accumulated through all of this frivolous studying. Recently, I’ve become pretty motivated to do something entirely different with my life, though, with the nature of it being so alien to all known things done with lives, I can’t entirely conceive of what – yet.
      As for the cat, he, regretfully, passed away – according to a recent nunnery visitor.
      Where has life taken thee in the half a decade since our lives collided? Away from leopard print caps I hope.

      Pleasantries and such


Leave a Reply

